Treasure Of Sacred Art
This small museum occupies the structures adjacent to the Church of St. Dominic sometimes referred to by its Portuguese title S. Domingo’s. The Portuguese Dominicans constructed the church in the 1590’s along with a convent which regrettably no longer stands to this day. The Church is dedicated to Our Lady of the Rosary. It was originally constructed out of wood but during the 17th century it was reconstructed of new materials and in a much larger structure, which included three naves. It was in the 18th century that the structure was redecorated in the colonial baroque style of the era with decorative motifs characteristic of the region.
The Museum of the Church of S. Domingos (Treasure of Sacred Art) is now located in the building’s adjacent to the church and opened to the public in 1997. The Religious Order was abolished in Portugal in 1834, and the church received at this time a great number of religious artifacts of great significance that are on showcase in the museum.
Address: S. Domingos Square (next to Senado Square)
Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Tel: +853 28367706
Bus routes nearby: 3, 3X, 4, 6A, 8A, 18A, 19, 26A, 33, N1A
Visited 492 times, 1 Visits today